Official Nominees for the 2018 Anime Awards!

The 2018 Anime Awards will soon be upon us and that means that Crunchyroll has officially dropped the list of nominees for the year in review! 2018 was the biggest year to date for the culture and anime fans all over the world were entertained by inspired adaptions and breathtaking original titles. Its tough to choose which shows are among the best of the year but Crunchyroll’s new and improved team of judges were spot on with Fan Favorites like MEGALOBOX and Violet Evergarden making their marks in numerous categories. Let’s see if your favorite made the cut!

Best Animation

My Hero Academia Season 3—BONES
Devilman Crybaby—Science SARU
Bloom into You—Troyca
MEGALOBOX—TMS Entertainment/3xCube
A Place Further Than the Universe—MADHOUSE
Violet Evergarden—Kyoto Animation √ Latt’s Pick  √ Projected Winner 

Best Opening Sequence

KISS OF DEATH by Mika Nakashima x Hyde—DARLING in the FRANXX
Fighting Gold by Coda—JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure: Golden Wind  √ Projected Winner
Deal with the Devil by Tia—Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
Aggretsuko Theme by Miura Jam—Aggretsuko
POP TEAM EPIC by Sumire Uesaka—Pop Team Epic  √ Latt’s Pick 
Fiction by Sumika—Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku

Best Ending Sequence

Star Overhead by the pillows—FLCL Alternative
Fly Me to the Star by Starlight Kukugumi—Revue Starlight
Akatsuki no Requiem by Linked Horizon—Attack on Titan Season 3
Ref:rain by Aimer—After the Rain
Spiky Seeds by the pillows—FLCL Progressive
Kakatte Koi yo by NakamuraEmi—MEGALOBOX  √ Latt’s Pick  √ Projected Winner

Best Film

Liz and the Blue Bird—Kyoto Animation
My Hero Academia: Two Heroes—BONES  √ Latt’s Pick  
Mazinger Z: Infinity—Toei Animation
Mirai—Studio Chizu  √ Projected Winner
Night is Short, Walk on Girl—Science SARU

Best Character Design

Aggretsuko—Original Designs by Sanrio
Violet Evergarden—Designs by Akiko Takase
MEGALOBOX—Designs by Hiroshi Shimizu  √ Latt’s Pick  
Devilman Crybaby—Designs by Kiyotaka Oshiyama Based on Original Designs by Go Nagai  √ Projected Winner
ZOMBIE LAND SAGA—Designs by Kasumi Fukagawa
JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure: Golden Wind—Designs by Takahiro Kashida Based on Original Designs by Hirohiko Araki

Best Boy

Joe—MEGALOBOX  √ Latt’s Pick
Izuku Midoriya—My Hero Academia Season 3    √ Projected Winner
Sakuta Azusagawa—Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai
Honda-san—Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san

Best Girl

Hinata Miyake—A Place Further Than the Universe   √ Latt’s Pick 
Asirpa—Golden Kamuy
Anzu—HINAMATSURI    √ Projected Winner  
Nadeshiko Kagamihara—Laid-Back Camp
Mai Sakurajima—Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai

Best Voice Actor Performance (JP)

Mamoru Miyano as Kotaro Tatsumi—ZOMBIE LAND SAGA
Rareko as Retsuko—Aggretsuko  √ Projected Winner  
Megumi Han as Miki Makimura—Devilman Crybaby  √ Latt’s Pick
Reina Ueda as Akane Shinjo—SSSS.Gridman
Soma Saito as Honda-san—Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san
Nao Toyama as Rin Shima—Laid-Back Camp

Best Voice Actor Performance (English)

Kari Wahlgren as Haruko Haruhara—FLCL Progressive
Christopher Sabat as All Might—My Hero Academia Season 3  √ Projected Winner 
Erica Mendez as Retsuko—Aggretsuko
David Wald as the Narrator—Mr. Tonegawa: Middle Management Blues
Tia Ballard as Zero Two—DARLING in the FRANXX  √ Latt’s Pick
Erika Harlacher as Violet Evergarden—Violet Evergarden

Best Director

Atsuko Ishizuka—A Place Further Than the Universe  √ Latt’s Pick
Taichi Ishidate—Violet Evergarden
Yohei Suzuki—Planet With
Masaaki Yuasa—Devilman Crybaby
You Moriyama—MEGALOBOX  √ Projected Winner
Hiroko Utsumi—Banana Fish

Best Protagonist

Yumeko Jabami—Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler  √ Latt’s Pick
Joe—MEGALOBOX  √ Projected Winner
Violet Evergarden—Violet Evergarden
Rimuru Tempest—That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime
Sakuta Azusagawa—Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai

Best Antagonist

Ryo Asuka—Devilman Crybaby
All For One—My Hero Academia Season 3  √ Latt’s Pick
Momonga—Overlord III  √ Projected Winner
Tokushiro Tsurumi—Golden Kamuy
Akane Shinjo—SSSS.Gridman

Anime of the Year

Devilman Crybaby—Science SARU
Violet Evergarden—Kyoto Animation
A Place Further Than the Universe—MADHOUSE
MEGALOBOX—TMS Entertainment/3xCube  √ Latt’s Pick  √ Projected Winner

Best Fight Scene

Jiren vs. Goku—Dragon Ball Super  √ Latt’s Pick
All for One vs. All Might—My Hero Academia Season 3  √ Projected Winner
Satan vs. Devilman—Devilman Crybaby
Yami vs. Licht—Black Clover
Naruto & Sasuke vs. Momoshiki—BORUTO: NARUTO NEXT GENERATIONS

Best Continuing Series

The Ancient Magus’ Bride—WIT STUDIO
Dragon Ball Super—Toei Animation
Black Clover—Pierrot
March comes in like a lion—Shaft
One Piece—Toei Animation  √ Latt’s Pick  √ Projected Winner

Last years list of nominees was heavily scrutinized for having the same six shows for nearly every category. Yes, Made in Abyss and Ancient Magus Bride were great but shows such as Mitsuboshi colors should have had some representation as well. This year Crunchyroll knew they had to take more care in their selections and it definitely showed with less popular shows like Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san and Planet With getting to flex with the big boys this time around. This list of nominees definitely has me excited to cast my vote and you can support your favorite shows from last year by heading over to Crunchyroll’s Official website. Winners will be revealed on February 16, live from San Francisco and streamed exclusively on TWITCH.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: